Junior C and U14 footballers in action this past weekend

This weekend was all about the Junior C and U14 Footballers. Last Friday night, the Junior C Footballers travelled to Ballydehob to take on Gabriel Rangers in the semi final of the championship. On a very wet and greasy surface the Kilmacs started the game brightly and playing with the wind had the lion’s share of the possession but only managed to score 0-4 in the opening half with the Western men leading by two at half time, 0-4 to 0-6. Turning to play against the elements in the second half, proved to a tough ask and again enjoying the majority of the possession, looked the more likely team to win out. But poor option taking and a more potent forward division from Gabriels, proved to be the defining aspect of this game, with the Ballydehob/Schull outfit running out winners by 0-9 to 0-12.

While it wasn’t the greatest week for the Kilmac Junior teams, the second team should how important it is to be giving both young and older players the opportunity to play regular football over the course of the year. The team that lost to Gabriel’s was: Tim Donovan, Diarmuid O Donovan, Niall McCarthy, Brian Hayes, Liam Wolfe, Peadar O Leary, Dara Tobin, Niall Bowkett, Tom French, Sean O Regan, Karl McCarthy, Brian O Sullivan, Myles Tobin, Eoin O Sullivan, Jack Connolly, Euan Tobin, Brian O Donovan, Kevin O Donovan, Gavin Daly.

It was off to Aughaville on Sunday afternoon to see if the U14’s could continue their great league campaign against Urhan in the League final. On a damp day, it was the Kilmacs who took control of this game from the outset, and playing some wonderful attacking football and showing terrific work-rate to overcome the Beara men by 7-14 to 6-5. A tremendous reception welcomed the players as the hardy souls who had watched the game, cheered as captain Mark Cooke accepted the League Shield on behalf of his teammates.

Despite numbers being small at this age group, the Kilmacs showed tremendous heart, spirit and work rate throughout the year and deserved their victory on Sunday. Well done to Sean Tobin, Kevin O Driscoll, John McCarthy and Kevin Cooke who mentored the team to this great triumph. The victorious league winning panel was: Mark Cooke (captain), Mark O Sullivan, Liam McCarthy, Owen Tobin, Liam Tobin, Cillian Whelton, Adam O Donovan, Patrick O Driscoll, Cian O Donoghue, Padraig Gore, Donal O Donovan, John Keating, Tyler Abbey Henning, Connor Burns.

Please check locally or check out the clubs social media pages at: www.facebook.com/Kilmacabea GAA Club or www.twitter.com/Kilmacabea GAA for further updates on all club events and fixtures. Also check out the clubs new website www.kilmacabeagaa.ie

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.